Food and Beverage Trends for 2023
December 26, 2022 – 8:14 pm | Comments Off on Food and Beverage Trends for 2023

What will food and beverage menus look like in 2023? Lyons Magnus, a global foodservice, and ingredient source, predicts five emerging trends. “We use our proprietary research and analysis to support our partners with targeted …

Read the full story »
Cooking Class

Foodie Event

Foodie Tours

Restaurant News

Wine Event

Home » Food History

“A Bite-Sized History of France”

Submitted by on April 21, 2021 – 8:54 amNo Comment

A bite-sized history of FranceFood takes the top spot in this year’s book award competition from the French Heritage Society.

Named as winner of the Fourth Annual Book Award is A Bite-Sized History of France: Gastronomic Tales of Revolution, War, and Enlightenment by Stéphane Hénaut and Jeni Mitchell.

This year’s award ceremony will take place virtually tomorrow (April 22, 2021). The afternoon program begins at 1 p.m. and includes remarks from members of the Book Award Committee and jury.

Each ticket ($200) includes a complimentary copy of A Bite-Sized History of France as well as the Zoom link.

The winning author will receive a $5,000 cash prize in addition to an award goblet designed by Thomas Jefferson while he served as Minister to France. During the event, the winner will be interviewed by Laura Auricchio, followed by an audience Q&A session. Auricchio is the Dean of Fordham College at Lincoln Center, New York.

The French Heritage Society Book Award was launched in 2017 in celebration of the organization’s 35th Anniversary. The Book Award recognizes and honors a work of distinction that illuminates for the general public either an important element of French cultural or historical patrimony (especially but not solely in the domains of architecture, décor, couture, gardening, and the arts) or the considerable and noteworthy influence France, its citizens, and its culture have had in shaping American history, thought and culture. Recognized works address their topic and themes with originality and exemplary style. This work must be written in, or translated into, English and have been published in America in the three years preceding the annual awarding of the prize. Past recipients include Proust’s Duchess by Caroline Weber, Finding Fontainebleau: An American Boy in France by Thad Carhart, and The Other Paris by Luc Sante.

The Book Award’s jury is comprised of Cheryl Hurley, immediate past president of the Library of America; Anne Poulet, Director Emerita of The Frick Collection, and Bruno Racine, author and former director of the Pompidou Center and of the National Library of France.

The French Heritage Society is an American nonprofit organization with 10 chapters in the U.S. and one in France. Its central mission is to ensure that the treasures of French architectural and cultural heritage survive in order to inspire future generations to build, dream, and create.

Comments are closed.